Aussie Travel

South Pacific Experts

New Zealand Wonderland

Marvel at the wonders of New Zealand's North and South Islands on this 17 day APT Escorted Coach Tour.

17 DAYS
AUCKLAND TO CHRISTCHURCH

 

Your Included Signature Experiences

• Visit the historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds
• Look out for dolphins on a magical Hole in the Rock cruise
• Immerse yourself in Maori culture at a Hangi Feast in Rotorua
• Cruise to the South Island aboard the Interislander ferry
• Ride on the famous TranzAlpine train
• Marvel at the impressive icy contours of Franz Josef Glacier
• Cruise the full length of Milford Sound
• Enjoy a Taste of Fiordland Dinner in Te Anau
• Discover Australasia’s highest peak in Aoraki Mt Cook National Park


Itinerary

Day 1. Arrive Auckland.
Be met at the airport and transferred to your hotel. Enjoy the opportunity to discover the ‘City of Sails’ as you choose from a range of exciting sightseeing inclusions, before enjoying the evening at leisure.
Stay: Grand Millennium Auckland.

Day 2. Auckland, Bay of Islands.
Cross Auckland’s busy Harbour Bridge this morning and travel along the Hibiscus Coast. Stop at Matakohe’s Kauri Museum for an insight into the rich pioneering history of New Zealand’s Northland region. Continue to the stunning Bay of Islands and visit the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, where the original treaty between the British and Maori people was signed. Here, you’ll also enjoy a visit to the Maori Meeting House and War Canoe.
Two Night Stay: Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, in a room with harbour views. BD

Day 3. Bay of Islands.
Today, decide how you would like to discover this spectacular region with our range of included sightseeing activities on offer to you. Perhaps take a day tour to Cape Reinga, New Zealand’s northernmost point or experience life on the high seas aboard a resplendent tall ship. Alternatively, embark on a dolphin-watching adventure, take a mini-tour of Russell or return to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds for a guided tour. B

Day 4. Bay of Islands, Auckland.
Explore the spectacular Bay of Islands on a dolphin-watching cruise to Cape Brett and the famous Hole in the Rock. Meander through the inner islands, admiring the sandy beaches and rocky outcrops, then spend some time in a secluded bay. Back at your hotel in Auckland tonight, enjoy a Pacific themed dinner with New Zealand produce.
Stay: Grand Millennium Auckland. B, FD

Day 5. Auckland, Waitomo Caves, Rotorua.
Travel to Waitomo, home to the famous glowworm caves where thousands of tiny luminescent creatures radiate an eerie glow. Discover this natural wonder on a guided tour, before continuing to Rotorua. This evening, immerse yourself in Maori culture as you enjoy a traditional Hangi Feast and performance of song and dance.
Two Night Stay: Holiday Inn Rotorua, overlooking Whakarewarewa Thermal Reserve. B, FD

Day 6. Rotorua.
Choose your sightseeing activity. Perhaps explore Redwood Treewalk with a Maori guide; experience the Agrodome Farm Show; make your way to Rainbow Springs Nature Park to see a kiwi nursery and visit the Te Puia Thermal Reserve; experience Middle-earth during a tour of the Hobbiton Movie Set; head to New Zealand’s largest boiling mud pool; or visit Rotorua Museum.

Day 7. Rotorua, Taupo, Wellington.
Follow the Thermal Explorer Highway and view the Wairakei Steam Valley, then visit Huka Falls and Lake Taupo, before travelling across the vast volcanic plateau of World Heritage-listed Tongariro National Park all the way to Wellington. This evening, choose from three tempting restaurants in which to dine.
Two Night Stay: Amora Hotel Wellington. B, FD

Day 8. Wellington.
After breakfast, set off on a sightseeing tour taking you to Wellington’s best-loved landmarks and sights. Afterwards, ride the iconic Cable Car, gaining a fresh perspective and fantastic vistas of this coastal city. B

Day 9. Wellington, Kaikoura, Christchurch.
Step aboard the Interislander ferry to cruise across Cook Strait and through Marlborough and Queen Charlotte sounds to Picton. Rejoin your coach and travel to the coast as you head for the quaint fishing town of Kaikoura. Continue travelling along the central east coast, to Christchurch.
Stay: Christchurch, Commodore Hotel. BD

Day 10. Christchurch, Tranz-Alpine Train, Franz Josef Glacier.
Board the TranzAlpine train for one of the world’s greatest rail adventures. Disembark at Arthur’s Pass and travel by coach to Hokitika. Here, see pounamu (jade) being carved into pieces of jewellery. Continue to Franz Josef, where you will take in the dramatic terrain and icy surrounds of the Franz Josef Glacier. Arrive later at your luxury eco-resort in time for a delicious four-course degustation dinner.
Stay: Franz Josef Glacier, Te Waonui Forest Retreat.

Day 11. Franz Josef Glacier, Queenstown.
Travel along the Haast River on your way to Queenstown, the country’s ‘adventure capital’. Tonight, choose from four dining options. Sample the freshest South Island produce at Finz seafood restaurant, or take a scenic gondola ride to the Skyline Restaurant for stunning panoramic views. You may prefer a dinner cruise aboard the TSS Earnslaw, or dine at Elements Restaurant.
Two Night Stay: Novotel Queenstown Lakeside. B, FD

Day 12. Queenstown.
Choose your included sightseeing activity. Perhaps visit several local sites where the Lord of the Rings trilogy was filmed. Thrill-seekers may enjoy an exhilarating ride on the Shotover Jet Boat, a Skippers Canyon adventure, or a river safari along the Dart River. A tour of the country’s premier wine-producing region is a tempting option. Other activities include a 4WD experience at Mt Nicholas, a bird walk through surrounding wilderness, or a leisurely cruise on Lake Wakatipu. B

Day 13. Queenstown, Milford Sound, Te Anau.
Journey along the Milford Road into the heart of Fiordland National Park. Keep your camera ready as you wind down the Eglinton and Hollyford valleys, then drive through the Homer Tunnel to be met by the sight of Mitre Peak, the iconic backdrop to Milford Sound. Continue to Milford Sound, where you’ll enjoy a cruise that explores the full length of this pristine fiord. Afterwards, arrive at the lakeside settlement of Te Anau. Tonight, enjoy a Taste of Fiordland Dinner.
Stay: Distinction Te Anau Hotel & Villas. B, FD

Day 14. Te Anau, Dunedin.
Travel to Dunedin on the island’s east coast, a city known as the Edinburgh of the south. This afternoon, choose your activity. Perhaps tour Larnach Castle and visit Olveston House, or head to Dunedin’s railway station and board the Taieri Gorge Railway. Those who enjoy a beer might like to tour Speight’s Brewery. Alternatively, nature lovers can either visit an albatross colony, see penguins or take an off-road tour of the sweeping Otago Peninsula.
Stay: Dunedin, Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. BD

Day 15. Dunedin, Mt Cook.
Drive north and stop to view the large spherical Moeraki Boulders on Koekohe Beach. Continue to World Heritage-listed Mt Cook National Park, where you can choose your included sightseeing activity. Perhaps visit the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre, including a stargazing session with an astronomer. Alternatively, during the summer months, board a MAC boat and get up close to icebergs on the Tasman Glacier Terminal Lake.
Stay: Mt Cook, The Hermitage Hotel. BD

Day 16. Mt Cook, Lake Tekapo, Christchurch.
Leaving the snow-capped peaks of Mt Cook behind, travel to Lake Tekapo. Here, you’ll pay a visit to the tiny Church of the Good Shepherd. Built of locally gathered stone and oak, this charming church was erected as a tribute to the early pioneers of the region. Later, travel through delightful scenery along Burkes Pass to Christchurch, the largest city in the South Island of New Zealand. In the evening, you’ll enjoy a tantalising Farewell Dinner at your hotel.
Stay: Rydges Latimer Christchurch. B, FD

Day 17. Depart Christchurch.
Today, your tour draws to a conclusion. After breakfast, you will be transferred to the airport for your onward flight. B


Your Premier Escorted Vacation Includes

• Enriching Signature Experiences and Freedom of Choice Inclusions
• 16 breakfasts (B), 4 dinners (D) and 7 feature dinners (FD)
• APT Tour Director, plus expert local guides
• Arrival and departure airport transfers in New Zealand
• Luggage porterage and tipping

2017/18 Dates & Prices
(CA$) Per person, twin share

 17 DAY PREMIER
ESCORTED VACATION
 All Breakfasts
with
7 Feature Meals
 With meals
as stated
 2017    
 July 8; Aug. 5.  $6,545  $6,795
 Sept. 2^, 9^, 23^.  $6,895  $7,145
 Oct. 7^, 14, 21^, 28^.  $7,595  $7,895
 Nov. 4^, 8, 18^, 25; Dec. 2, 9^, 16^.  $7,595  $7,895
 2018    

Jan. 6^, 10, 20^, 24, 26^, 31.

 $7,595  $7,895
Feb. 5^, 10, 17^, 21, 26^; Mar. 3^, 7, 10, 21^, 28.  $7,595  $7,895
 Apr. 7^, 14, 21^.  $7,195 $7,495 
May 12; July 7^; Aug. 4. $6,695 $6,995
Sept. 1, 8^, 15, 22^. $7,195 $7,495
Sept. 29. $7,595 $7,895
PLEASE NOTE: ^Indicates guaranteed departures. Land content only. International/domestic flights not included in tour price. Itinerary effective 7 Oct. 2017 – 29 Sept. 2018. Tours departing outside these dates follow a different itinerary – please enquire for details. Supplements for solo travellers are available on application. Ask us about pre and post accommodation. Te Waonui Forest Retreat is subject to seasonality.

Start Planning

South Pacific Experts
[javascript protected email address]
Book by Dec 31, 2017

Aussie Travel

South Pacific Experts

La Nouvelle-Zélande, pays des merveilles

Laissez les splendeurs des îles du Sud et du Nord de la Nouvelle-Zélande vous éblouir lors de ce circuit guidé de 17 jours en train d’APT

17 JOURS
D’AUCKLAND À CHRISTCHURCH


Expériences uniques comprises

 

• Visitez le site historique de Waitangi Treaty Grounds
• Observez des dauphins à bord d’une fantastique croisière Hole in the Rock
• Plongez-vous dans la culture maorie en participant à un festin hangi à Rotorua
• Naviguez jusqu’à l’île du Sud sur le traversier Interislander
• Voyagez à bord du célèbre train TranzAlpine
• Émerveillez-vous devant les paysages gelés du glacier Franz Josef
• Explorez chaque recoin du fjord de Milford Sound
• Goûtez à la cuisine de la région du Fiordland à Te Anau
• Découvrez le plus haut sommet de la Nouvelle-Zélande au parc national Aoraki/Mount Cook

Itinéraire

Jour 1 | Arrivée à Auckland
Vous serez accueilli à l’aéroport, puis conduit à l’hôtel. Vous aurez la possibilité de découvrir la « ville des voiles » en faisant votre choix parmi une gamme de palpitantes visites comprises dans voyage. Vous passerez ensuite la soirée à votre guise.
Nuitée à l’hôtel Grand Millennium Auckland

Jour 2 | Auckland et la baie des îles
Vous traverserez le très achalandé pont Harbour en matinée et voyagerez le long de la côte des Hibiscus. Vous ferez un arrêt au musée Kauri de Matakohe, où vous aurez un aperçu de la riche histoire de la région de Northland, en Nouvelle-Zélande. Vous poursuivrez votre route jusqu’à la splendide baie des îles et visiterez le site de Waitangi Treaty Grounds, où fut signé le traité original entre les peuples britannique et maori. À cet endroit, vous irez également voir un espace de rencontre maori et une pirogue de guerre.
Deux nuitées au Copthorne Hotel and Resort Bay of Islands, dans une chambre avec vue sur le port 

Déjeuner et souper inclus

Jour 3 | La baie des îles
Vous déciderez de la manière dont vous souhaitez explorer cette région spectaculaire en choisissant parmi une sélection d’activités. Quelques idées : prendre part à une visite d’une journée au cap Reinga, qui est la pointe la plus au nord de la Nouvelle-Zélande, découvrir la vie en haute mer à bord d’un resplendissant grand voilier, partir à la recherche des dauphins, participer à une courte visite de Russell ou encore retourner au site de Waitangi Treaty Grounds pour une visite guidée.

Déjeuner inclus

Jour 4 | La baie des îles et Auckland
Vous explorerez l’extraordinaire baie des îles lors d’une croisière d’observation des dauphins qui vous mènera au cap Brett et au célèbre rocher Hole in the Rock. Vous serpenterez parmi les îles intérieures, admirerez des plages sablonneuses et des affleurements rocheux, puis passerez un peu de temps dans une baie isolée. Vous retournerez à l’hôtel auquel vous avez séjourné à Auckland et profiterez d’un souper à thématique Pacifique préparé avec des produits néo-zélandais.
Nuitée à l’hôtel Grand Millennium Auckland 

Déjeuner et souper spécial inclus

Jour 5 | Auckland, les grottes de Waitomo et Rotorua
Vous visitez Waitomo, où se trouvent les célèbres grottes bioluminescentes du même nom, dont l’étrange éclat provient de milliers de petites créatures lumineuses. Vous découvrirez cette merveille naturelle lors d’une visite guidée, puis poursuivrez votre route jusqu’à Rotorua. En soirée, vous plongerez dans la culture maorie en profitant d’un festin hangi traditionnel et d’un spectacle de musique et de danse.
Deux nuitées à l’hôtel Holiday Inn Rotorua, qui surplombe la réserve thermale de Whakarewarewa 

Déjeuner et souper spécial inclus

Jour 6 | Rotorua
Vous choisirez l’activité que vous ferez à Rotorua. Vous pourrez explorer le parcours Redwood Treewalk en compagnie d’un guide maori, faire l’expérience du spectacle Agrodome Farm Show ou vous rendre au parc naturel Rainbow Springs pour voir une nourricerie de kiwis et visiter la réserve thermale de Te Puia. Vous aurez aussi la possibilité de découvrir la Terre du Milieu sur le plateau de tournage Hobbiton, d’aller voir la plus grande mare de boue bouillante de la Nouvelle-Zélande ou de faire un tour au musée de Rotorua.

Jour 7 | Rotorua, Taupo et Wellington
Vous parcourrez la route Thermal Explorer Highway et verrez la vallée thermale de Wairakei. Vous visiterez ensuite les chutes Huka et le lac Taupo, avant de traverser le vaste plateau volcanique du parc national de Tongariro, qui fait partie du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, pour vous rendre à Wellington. En soirée, vous pourrez, pour le souper, choisir parmi trois restaurants aux menus très alléchants.
Deux nuitées au Amora Hotel Wellington 

Déjeuner et souper spécial inclus

Jour 8 | Wellington
Après le déjeuner, vous participerez à une visite guidée qui vous fera voir les monuments et les sites les plus appréciés de Wellington. Par la suite, vous voyagerez à bord du funiculaire et aurez l’occasion d’admirer cette ville côtière sous un nouvel angle, en plus de profiter de vues fantastiques.

Déjeuner inclus

Jour 9 | Wellington, Kaikoura et Christchurch
Vous monterez à bord du traversier Interislander pour sillonner le détroit de Cook, à travers les fjords de Marlborough Sounds et de Queen Charlotte Sound, jusqu’à Picton. Vous partirez ensuite en direction de la côte en autobus pour vous rendre à la pittoresque localité de pêcheurs de Kaikoura. Vous poursuivrez votre route le long de la côte est centrale, puis vous arrêterez à Christchurch.
Nuitée au Commodore Hotel, à Christchurch

Déjeuner et souper inclus

Jour 10 | Christchurch, le train TranzAlpine et le glacier Franz Josef
Vous monterez à bord du train TranzAlpine pour vivre l’une des aventures ferroviaires les plus exceptionnelles au monde. Vous descendrez au col d’Arthur et voyagerez en autobus jusqu’à Hokitika. Vous verrez là-bas des joailliers en train de tailler du pounamu (jade) pour le transformer en bijoux. Vous continuerez votre chemin jusqu’à Franz Joseph, où vous vous contemplerez les paysages glacés et les terres spectaculaires du glacier Franz Josef. Vous arriverez au complexe écologique Te Waonui Forest Retreat juste à temps pour profiter d’un délicieux souper dégustation composé de quatre services.
Nuitée au complexe Te Waonui Forest Retreat, au glacier Franz Josef

Jour 11 | Le glacier Franz Josef et Queenstown
Vous voyagerez le long de la rivière Haast jusqu’à Queenstown, la « capitale de l’aventure » du pays. En soirée, vous aurez le choix de quatre options de restauration. Vous pourrez tester les produits les plus frais de l’île du Sud au Finz, un restaurant de fruits de mer, ou encore déguster votre repas en profitant de vues panoramiques lors d’une éblouissante promenade en gondole au restaurant Skyline. Vous pourrez également prendre part à un souper croisière à bord du bateau à vapeur TSS Earnslaw ou manger au restaurant Elements.
Deux nuitées à l’hôtel Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 

Déjeuner et souper spécial inclus

Jour 12 | Queenstown
Vous choisirez parmi les activités comprises dans le voyage. Vous pourrez visiter différents sites locaux où la trilogie du Seigneur des Anneaux a été filmée. Si vous recherchez des sensations fortes, vous pourrez faire une excursion grisante à bord du bateau à propulsion Shotover, vivre une aventure au canyon Skippers ou encore participer à un safari fluvial le long de la rivière Dart. Une autre option tentante : une visite de la plus importante région vinicole du pays. Parmi les autres activités offertes se trouvent une excursion en quatre-quatre au mont Nicholas, une balade ornithologique au sein des contrées sauvages environnantes ou encore une croisière tranquille sur le lac Wakatipu.

Déjeuner inclus

Jour 13 | Queenstown, le fjord de Milford Sound et Te Anau
Vous voyagerez le long de la Milford Road pour vous rendre au cœur du parc national de Fiordland. Il vous faudra garder votre appareil-photo à portée tandis que vous progresserez lentement parmi les vallées d’Eglinton et d’Hollyford. Vous traverserez ensuite le tunnel Homer. De l’autre côté vous attendra le spectacle du sommet Mitre Peak, toile de fond emblématique du Milford Sound. Une fois arrivé au Milford Sound, vous ferez une croisière qui vous permettra d’explorer chaque recoin de ce fjord immaculé. Vous vous arrêterez ensuite à l’hôtel Te Anau, situé au bord du lac. En soirée, vous profiterez d’un souper spécial « Taste of Fiordland ».
Nuitée au Distinction Te Anau Hotel & Villas 

Déjeuner et souper spécial inclus

Jour 14 | Te Anau et Dunedin
Vous vous rendrez à Dunedin, située sur la côte est de l’île. Cette ville est connue comme étant « l’Édimbourg du Sud ». En après-midi, vous choisirez l’activité que vous souhaitez faire. Vous pourrez visiter le château de Larnach et la maison Olveston, ou encore vous rendre à la gare de train de Dunedin et monter à bord du train parcourant la ligne Taieri Gorge. Si vous êtes amateur de bières un tour à la la brasserie Speight’s vous intéressera sans doute. Si vous êtes plutôt un amoureux de la nature, vous pourrez aller voir une colonie d’albatros, admirer des pingouins ou suivre un circuit hors route jusqu’à la longue péninsule d’Otago.
Nuitée au Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, à Dunedin

Déjeuner et souper inclus

Jour 15 | Dunedin et le mont Cook
Vous partirez en direction nord et vous arrêterez en chemin pour voir les Moeraki Boulders, ces gros rochers sphériques que l’on trouve sur la plage de Koekohe. Vous continuerez votre route jusqu’au parc national Aoraki/Mount Cook, un site du patrimoine de l’UNESCO. Là-bas, vous aurez le loisir de choisir l’activité qui vous plaira. Vous pourrez, par exemple, prendre part à une visite du centre alpin Sir Edmund Hillary, qui comprend une séance d’observation des étoiles en compagnie d’un astronome. Pendant l’été, vous aurez la possibilité de monter à bord d’un bateau MAC pour admirer de près les icebergs du lac terminal du glacier de Tasman.
Nuitée au Hermitage Hotel, au mont Cook

Déjeuner et souper inclus

Jour 16 | Le mont Cook, le lac Tekapo et Christchurch
Vous quitterez les sommets enneigés du mont Cook pour vous rendre au lac Tekapo, où vous visiterez la toute petite église du bon Berger. Construite de pierres et de bois de chêne amassés localement, cette charmante église a été érigée pour honorer les premiers pionniers de la région. Vous voyagerez ensuite au cœur de splendides paysages du col de Burkes, puis vous arrêterez à Christchurch, la plus grande ville de l’île du Sud de la Nouvelle-Zélande. En soirée, vous profiterez d’un exquis souper d’adieu, qui sera servi à l’hôtel.
Nuitée à l’hôtel Rydges Latimer Christchurch 

Déjeuner et souper spécial inclus

Jour 17 | Départ de Christchurch
C’est la fin du voyage. Après le déjeuner, vous serez conduit à l’aéroport, où vous prendrez votre vol de retour.

Déjeuner inclus


Votre voyage guidé primé comprend :

 

• Des expériences uniques et enrichissantes ainsi que des inclusions « Freedom of Choice »
• 16 déjeuners, 4 soupers et 7 soupers spéciaux
• Les services d’un accompagnateur d’APT et de guides experts locaux
• Le transport depuis et vers l’aéroport en Nouvelle-Zélande à l’arrivée et au départ
• La prise en charge des bagages et les pourboires

Dates et prix ($ CA) 2017/18 par personne en occupation double

PRENEZ NOTE : Le symbole « ^ » est affiché à côté des départs garantis. Portion terrestre seulement. Les vols internationaux et intérieurs ne sont pas compris dans le prix du voyage. Itinéraire en vigueur du 7 octobre 2017 au 29 septembre 2018. L’itinéraire des voyages dont la date de départ ne fait pas partie de cet intervalle est différent. Communiquez avec votre conseiller Vision Voyages pour obtenir des détails. Des tarifs pour voyageurs seuls sont offerts sur demande, moyennant un supplément. Communiquez avec votre conseiller Vision Voyages pour réserver des chambres avant ou après le voyage. Le Te Waonui Forest Retreat est offert en fonction des disponibilités saisonnières.

Commencez à planifier

South Pacific Experts
Réservez avant le 31 Dec 2017